Travel throwback! Taal-Vigan of the South…
Learn about Taal’s glorious past, its heroes, and its role in the Philippine Revolution. Travel through time as you explore Taal’s collection of restored Bahay na Batos, 19th century Filipino-Spanish adobe stone homes. Admire the architectural beauty, like the classic capiz windows, gorgeous Philippine hardwoods, and the unique antique decor.
TOP DESTINATIONS YOU SHOULD NOT MISS WHILE IN TAAL:
St. Martin de Tours Basilica
Taal town’s imposing symbol, this basilica is the biggest Catholic church in the Philippines and reputedly the largest in Asia. First built in 1575 in present day San Nicolas town, it was abandoned in 1754 due to the destructive eruption of Taal volcano. It was rebuilt in 1755 until an earthquake damaged it in 1849. Again, it was rebuilt in 1856, overseen by Spanish Architect Luciano Olivero. Restoration efforts by parish priest Monsignor Alfredo Madlangbayan in 2011.
Our Lady of Caysasay Shrine
The church houses the statue of the Virgin of Caysasay, an image found by a fisherman named Juan Maningcad in Dec. 8, 1603 by the Pansipit river in Barrio Caysasay. The barrio is named for an abundance of Kingfishers known locally as Casay – Casay. On Dec. 8, 1954, exactly 200 years after Taal volcano’s eruption, the image was cannonically crowned at the Taal Basilica by His Eminence, Cardinal Fernando Quiroga Palacios, representing His Holiness Pope Pius XII.
Paradores del Castillo
This former ancestral home of Dr. Hermenegildo and Blanca del Castillo built in the early 1900’s was restored by present owners Ernesto and Ria Benedicto – Villavicencio in January, 2014. It opened on March 9, 2015 as a heritage hotel and restaurant with a beautiful garden planted with mature fruit – bearing trees. The panoramic view of the surrounding Lemery countryside, Virgin of Caysasay Shrine, Balayan Bay, Pansipit River, Calaca and the Batulao mountains make this a unique Taal destination.
Casa Villavicencio (Casa V)
The pre-1850’s bahay na bato owned by Don Eulalio and Doña Gliceria Marella Villavicencio has original tin ceilings, crystal chandeliers, canvass wall murals and wood carvings with delicate Art Nouveau designs. This historical home is more priceless because of the roles its owners played in the Filipino Spanish Revolution. Pioneering restoration efforts by fourth generation descendants Ernesto and Ria Benedicto Villavicencio began in 1995. Numerous tourist visits generated by this home inspired succeeding heritage conservation efforts within the town.
Villavicencio (Wedding Gift House)
This 1870’s home adjacent to Casa V is characterized by its colorful and airy interiors. It was the wedding gift of Eulalio Villavicencio to his wife Gliceria Marella.
This ancestral home of the Ilagan-Barrion family, now showcases Mr. Manny B. Inumerable’s impressive camera collection and
photographs, some dating back to the late 1800’s.
Marcella Agoncillo Museum
Originally built in the 18th century and currently administered by the National Historical Institute, it is the ancestral home of Taal’s revolutionary muse, Marcella Mariño Agoncillo, the creator of the first Philippine flag.
Agustinian priests constructed this structure in the 17th century to serve as a school for under – privelaged youth. It is currently used as an events – place administered by the Taal Local Government Unit.
Don Gregorio Agoncillo (White House)
The stately American-Colonial “White House” contains a collection of beautiful hardwood antique furniture pieces and priceless personal artefacts. This house is admisnistered by the Don Gregorio Agoncillo Foundation in honor of his daughter Corazon Agoncillo, a great benefactress of Taal.
Sta. Lucia Well
In 1611, two women gathering firewood saw the image of the Virgin of Caysasay reflected in a spring, near where it was found. The miraculous spring water from the well has attracted religious pilgrims to the town of Taal for centuries.
Don Leon Apacible Museum
Don Leon Apacible was a revolutionist against Spain and the first Finance Officer of Batangas during President Emilio Aguinaldo’s administration. His ancestral home is notable for its well-preserved Art Deco design elements. The museum is currently administered by the National Historical Institute
Casa Recuerdos was originally owned by Dr.Herminigildo Del Castillo which built in early 1900’s.It was opened for business last January 24, 2018 .It is a studio type house where in you can travel back in time with our circa 1890’s costumes for php350 including two 5r size picture. Recuerdo a spanish word means a memory visiting casa recuerdos will leave you a unique experience of the past.
Paradores del Castillo invites guests to book their stay, and the rest will be history.
Landline No.: (043) 740 4060
Mobile : +63 917 500 6041 / +63 917 526 1098
Email : email@example.com / firstname.lastname@example.org
Address : #28 Calle Dr. H. Del Castillo, Brgy. Zone 14, Taal, Batangas 4208, Philippines